Work Past the Pain – Hitting Hurdles Head On

When I watch NFL games, I think of the team as nothing more than an expanded office environment. The same exists – personality dynamics, power struggles, control issues, to-do list, and meetings. Their stats are their annual reviews.

One huge difference is the fact that players have to play past their pain – I mean very real pain; knee pain, joint pain, pulled muscle pain, broken finger pain…in the corporate world you get to take days off when sick or in pain. NFL players are exceptional at working past their pain and hitting hurdles head on. Flu? They’re on the field. Broken pinkie? On the field. Death of a family member? Suited up and ready to play.

Watching players do what they do best is so motivating to me because it tells me I can also work past my pain.

Oh, it might not be physical pain. It might be the emotional pain of not realizing goals as soon as I’d like or the pain of seeing my wayward child make a mess of her life, or the pain of wanting a second half of life partner to show up before I’m too old to enjoy them.

What is your pain? What is your hurdle?
Take some time to think about your pains. Write your pains, whether physical, mental, or emotional down on the left side of a piece of paper. Draw a line down the center of the paper, then on the right side, list all the gifts and blessings you experience every day. Compare what you have to what people in 3rd world countries have. I bet they outweigh the pains listed on the left side. This is what I focus on – the right side of the paper.

Yes, the other pains are still there. They still exist every day. But focusing on pain drains you of precious energy and mental clarity. Choose to focus on your blessings. Every morning when I wake up, I thank God for allowing me the privilege of even waking up and I smile at myself in the mirror. That outward act determines my inward attitude for the day.

Work past your pain. Hit your hurdles head on!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment